About the museum

Building history

coming soon..

Niels Lynge's hous

Niels Lynges house is open for the public by appointment.

Niels Lynges house by Gertrud Raskvej 24, is a time typical selfbuilt house, built in 1950. It was owned by the priest Niels Lynge, who also was a well know painter and poet. The house is still shaped and decorated the same as when Niels Lynge and his family lived there. Visiting the house will id like entering a private home in 1950'ies and a few year forward.

It is unusual and beautiful to experience Niels Lynges house. The livingroom and the kitchen gives a retrospektiv look, which brings the guest in to a memory lane, to childhood or teenage years.

The house was big to its time. There were room for the Pastor Niels Lynge (1880-1965), his second wife Karoline (1906-1989), and their two youngest daughters.

The time hast past with a long life in the service of the Church in south and central Greenland as a priest and forerunner of variuous organizations.

Niels Lynges house opened for the public in 1995.

Museum shop

The museum shop has an exciting selection of product, which is produced by the locals from Nuuk. Drop by and look at our unique products. Buy it for yourself or for one of your loved ones, and support the local artists and entrepreneurs at the same time.